A little gem

A little gem

I am a procrastinator, always have been. However, ever since I decided to become a teacher I have been trying not to procrastinate. Practice what you preach, that kind of thing. Why do tomorrow what you can do today? It’s quite hard to break a habit though. Every once in a while I still find myself trying to finish lesson plans in a deadline-induced panic.

image

On my journey of change I stumbled across a wonderful app named Trello. “Trello is the free, flexible, and visual way to organize anything with anyone.” I immediately downloaded it, and created some boards, filled with ‘to do lists’, checklists, deadlines and more. I realised this app was the key to getting stuff done! And then I forgot about it.

But then, last week, at my internship, my mentor introduced the app Trello to his pupils. He hasn’t made a weekly planner for them for this semester. They are going to plan their (home)work themselves (in order for them to take charge of their own learning and all that). They will be using Trello to manage their tasks.

So, the pupils downloaded the app, created a board ‘English’ and started on their ‘to do’ list. The design of the app simplistic and highly visual. The app is quite easy to figure out. You can use Trello by yourself, but it’s also great for group projects. This is why my mentor opted for Trello. You can add people to the board, and they will be able to look at your projects, leave notes etc.  So, as a teacher, ask your pupils to add you to their boards and you will be able to keep track of what they are doing.

All in all I think Trello is a fantastic app, whether you want to plan a project, use it for group projects or really just use it as a tool to get your life sorted, it’s great. I have started using Trello again myself, and it really seems to help me getting things done. It might be too early to tell whether Trello has helped me to overcome procrastination but it definitely boosts productivity.

Trello is available for iOs and Android, as well as the web. And, it’s free!

Leave a comment